Last thoughts for the night

Somewhere, not too far from here, thousands of people like me, like my parents, like my sister, like my friends, like everyone I ever knew, are lying awake, awaiting the dawn, counting back to the end of noontime prayers shortly after midday tomorrow; when they will throw themselves on everything that was always wrong with their lives, like a droning, debilitating background hum. They will rip through that hum with a tremendous, roaring noise, and they will haul themselves onto spiked fences of batons, bullets, tear gas – and silence. I wish there was something I could do to help, but all I can do is going to sleep with them in my thoughts and with the determination to bear witness, if even from miles away. Good luck tomorrow.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog

2 responses to “Last thoughts for the night

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Last thoughts for the night | Dimi’s notes -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

